NaNoWriMo – Here we go and tips

Due to the wonder of international timezones, the NaNoWriMo challenge kicks off for me in around 30 minutes. As such I’m well and truly preparing for that wonderful “I’m already behind” feeling.

Why would I do such a thing? Well there is a simple reason. Many will put it down to the love of writing but I’m not such a person. To be honest? I doubt I will enjoy the next month or so at all. Writing is hard. It takes a long time, takes a lot of mental energy and can you leave you drained at the end of the day. If it was fun and easy? Such a concept as NaNoWriMo wouldn’t exist.

No, I do this because I want to create something. My previous novels? They may be complete garbage and only make complete sense to me. But they are there, on my shelf and on the internet and with my name (well not my real name…but you know what I mean). That matters to me. Maybe only one other person in the history of the world will ever read it. Maybe nobody ever will. But long after I’m gone, it’ll still be there. This is important to me.

So the goal? simply another 50k words representing a novel and a part of what makes up me. Last time I bodied that goal in 10 days which was a surprise. however I expect this time will be a lot more difficult because I’ve got a lot on in the next couple of weeks. To get through it? I’ll have to be pacing myself a bit more realistically I feel with a smaller chunk each day.

For those who are taking the challenge for the first time? Here are some tips:

  • Don’t write too much. I made the “mistake” of writing over 10k in a day last time around. Whilst this was fine and I was more or less happy with what I wrote, it wiped me out for the next couple of days after. Think of it like a big drinking session. It is fun at the time, but you really pay for it later. So don’t go too hard too early.
  • Don’t stress too much about what you are going to write. 50k (or whatever your goal is) is a long way to go. You’ll probably end up somewhere completely unexpected. This is ok, and is part of the magic.
  • You may have a nice plan worked out or you may not. I’ve completed the challenge before using both methods. What I will suggest though is setting aside rest and relaxation days where you will not write. Schedule a long walk or picnic or spend time at the gym. Above all else get away from the keyboard and let your head process what you have been writing. Chances are? You’ll come up with some pretty decent ideas.
  • Remember that no matter how bad your writing is, you are going to be 50k better off at the end. That is 50k words closer to something good, perhaps even something special. What is more, you are now a writer, because you got something done.
  • But realise this is only the beginning. I’ll post up some self-publishing steps when I reach the end. Is a self-printed novel a great gift idea for those hard to buy for relatives and close friends? Damn right it is.
  • Back ups? Yeah make back ups. I like to email myself a copy every day, otherwise something like Google Drive or Drop Box is your friend.

Above all else? Have fun. Good luck again to those having a crack. Everybody can do it, but it isn’t easy. We’ll all be in the trenches together.

Leave a comment