Quick Random Steam Game Thoughts

The eternal quest to play all my steam games continues. Here is a small selection of titles that I have tried recently:

Worth a look

Unturned: F2P DayZ/Rust/Every other game lately clone. So why is it worth a look? Well it is free for a start but I don’t know, it just charmed me a little. Small download too, so why not?
Cloudbuilt: I really bought into the atmosphere and I think the story is simple but well done. The gameplay? It is really hard as in, “expect to spend hours mastering the controls and you have to hold the controller kind of funny”, type of hard. But this isn’t necessarily a bad thing and in fact is a rather good thing if you know what you are getting into. So now you do and platforming or endless runner fans should check it out.
Outlast Whistleblower: I really liked the original Outlast and the DLC is even better. It does go way over the top at certain points, but that is kind of what you want from horror isn’t it? So check it out.
Marlow Briggs: You might have heard this game described as being better than God of War…in a joking matter. So yes, I can confirm that it is indeed a joke, almost as funny as some of the animations. Still, it has some surprising moments that make you wonder why they put such an effort into this game. Somebody blew a shitload of money on this title, so you might as well have a look at some stage just to be in on it.

Meh

Symphony: After fiddling with the setup, you are inserted into a colourful shoot-em-up based on your own music tracks (or those provided). All nicely done, but I’m not a music game fan generally and the shooting hook wasn’t enough. I’d rather just play a shooter.
Hard Reset: If I had played this a year ago? I’d have liked it better. But as a traditional hardcore shooter? You might be better with Wolfenstein or Shadow Warrior now. Still solid.

Nah
Halo: Spartan Assault: About as bland and unexciting as you might expect, if you expected it to be super bland and unexciting. Guns, missions, graphics? All 5/10 stuff. There is nothing bad as such, just nowhere near worth your time.
Suguri: Anime inspired shooter that isn’t terrible, but it wasn’t my style and the gameplay has very little to recommend beyond that.
Acceleration of Suguri X-Edition: As above, but focused on boss battles this time. Just doesn’t seem very fun at all.

Leave a comment